is that a pop-up restaurant or are you just happy to see me?

17 Mar

Last night I took a break from trying to convince a bar regular that Miley Cyrus has artistic integrity (based on the cover of Bob Dylan’s “You’re Gonna Make Me Lonesome When I Go,” which you should do yourself a favor and download) to tell him about the t-shirts I designed for Hashbrown Harry’s, (a fictional late-night farm-to-table breakfast place that I invented earlier this week, for all you newcomers) and highlight a few menu items I had come up with, such as caramelized rosemary “hash” brownies for dessert and our signature hashbrown, cooked in a waffle iron.

“Hey I’d like to eat that right now!” he said.

“It’s going to take a while, my readers and I are still in the planning process. We’re currently scouting locations.” (Let’s face it folks, the lakefront dive bar is still in business and we just don’t have time to wait for the next big police raid or syphilis outbreak.)

“That’s a shame. It sounds like a great place with really awesome t-shirts.”

I agreed wholeheartedly that the t-shirts are incredible. Then, for the second time in a week, it struck me that I’m a Super Genius and I am pretty well equipped to sell t-shirts AND pancakes AND special brownies AND artisan cocktails. I’ve also got a bar, a big ole kitchen and a sometimes-vacant party room. All signs were pointing in one direction.

A pop-up restaurant!

For those of you who have been hiding under a rock, (probably also known as Blackberry and Android owners and/or people who have never used Yelp or a Google Place Page) a pop-up restaurant is basically a temporary restaurant (lasting a night, a week, a month… whatever) that’s opened just about anywhere – an open field, a gymnasium, a really awesome party room at an utterly delightful neighborhood restaurant… according to Wikipedia, it allows Super Geniuses like myself to “experiment without the risk of bankruptcy.”

My goal is actually quite the opposite. I hope to invest so much in the creation of this pop-up restaurant on fresh, local ingredients and cool glasses and mismatched flea market plates all for the merriment of my lucky customers that I do, actually, go bankrupt.

Perhaps, like my parents and my husband, you think I’m a nutjob. But I promise this isn’t so, or at the very least I’m not the only one.

In any case, Hashbrown Harry’s will be opening for business for one night only, and by invitation only, in the very near future. And the best part is that because you made it to the end of this blog post, you’re on the already-coveted list! (As long as you listen to the Miley Cyrus song on the Official Shelbytown Spotify Playlist) But let’s not get ahead of ourselves, we’ve got a lot of planning to do!

2 Responses to “is that a pop-up restaurant or are you just happy to see me?”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. i am not on acid so please stop asking. « shelbytown - March 23, 2012

    […] minutes later I was chatting with a friendly couple, talking up my Jello shots and late night pop-up restaurant when she asked me if I’m on Acid right now. “Why does everyone keep asking if I’m […]

  2. i’ve got a bun in the oven! « shelbytown - October 20, 2012

    […] shit, you should be so excited. I know I am!!!!! Unlike last time when I decided on the T-shirts before I decided on the date, this time I have chosen dates for the […]

Leave a Reply

