how to have a (bouncy) ball!!

21 Feb

Today I was craving Chipotle for lunch, but nobody wanted to go pick it up because we’re all really lazy and nobody else wanted it except me, and I had already left to pick up Mr. Clean Magic Erasers and Pledge at Target (Proudly, I left with ONLY those two items… the first time I have ever stuck to a shopping list!!!) so naturally I didn’t feel like getting back in my car. Harry kindly recreated my burrito bowl, going so far as to make me guacamole. I liked it so much that I spilled it all over my shirt, staining it pretty severely right between my boobs which is a really difficult place to conceal schmegma so I had NO CHOICE but to go to Old Navy next door and pick up an emergency replacement.

I scored the only remaining long sleeve shirt (didn’t you hear? It’s summer in retail-land) and used the quarter I got as change to get a bouncy ball (bet you didn’t know that Old Navy has the best bouncy balls in town!!!). Let me just tell you, I have put a lotta quarters in a lotta gumball machines, andnever in my lifehave I gotten such a marvelous ball!!

my bouncy ball is the size of 2 peeps!

The ball me jump for joy and want to sing and dance, so I compiled a list of songs that compliment the wonderful feeling of bouncing something you love on the pavement. (While I realize this positivity makes many of my readers want to puke, I am completely devoted to Sunshine Week so far, so deal with it. It’s already Wednesday.)

The Official Shelbytown Playlist

  1. Into the Great Wide Open,Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers
  2. Flourescent Adolescent, Arctic Monkeys
  3. Popular Mechanics for Lovers, Beulah
  4. Without You, David Guetta & Usher
  5. You’re Gonna Make Me Lonesome When You Go, Miley Cyrus
  6. Catch a Grenade (The Hooligans Remix), Bruno Mars
  7. Cold Day in the Sun, Foo Fighters
  8. Come to Me, Koop & Yukimi Nagano
  9. Canned Heat, Jamiroquai
  10. Hip to my Heart,The Band Perry
  11. Cruel and Beautiful World, Grouplove
  12. Goodbye Kiss, Grace Potter & the Nocturnals
  13. For the Good Times, The Little Willies
  14. Drowning, Armin Van Buuren
  15. I’m Not Gonna Teach Your Boyfriend How to Dance, Black Kids
  16. Runaway, Love and Theft
  17. Johnny Got a Boom Boom,Imelda May
  18. Wonderful, Adam Ant
  19. Fast Cars & Freedom, Rascal Flatts
  20. Young, Wild & Free, Snoop Dogg, Wiz Khalifa & Bruno Mars
  21. Fuck You,Lily Allen

POETRY TUESDAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

ode to my bouncy ball 

bouncing ball of spots and yellow

you’re my very favorite fellow

when I feel down you get so high

you make me laugh and slap my thigh

I love the way you bounce and roll

but please don’t fall in any hole

I don’t know how I’d get you back

I need you for my game of jax

thanks for leaving the ball machine

and for being yellow instead of green

the next time I’ve got an extra quarter

I’ll hit Old Navy to buy your daughter

One Response to “how to have a (bouncy) ball!!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. tales of the loo. « shelbytown - March 9, 2012

    […] floor, so there’s technically no sound barrier between me and the toilet. In addition to my Spotify lists, I often get a thrilling additional soundtrack while I do my work/play spider solitaire/google […]

Leave a Reply

