why every restaurant should be open 24 hours.

13 Jan

One thing that keeps me and Harry’s marriage strong is indecisiveness. We just don’t know. It doesn’t matter what it is. We don’t know. A standard conversation:

“What day are we leaving for our vacation?”

“I don’t know.”

“How long should we go for?”

“Until Saturday, Sunday, Monday or Tuesday. I don’t know. What do you think?”

“I don’t know. Where should we go?”

“I don’t know. What do you think? Should we go someplace hot? Cold? Should we drive? Fly?”

“I don’t know.”

It is for this reason that we CONSTANTLY end up taking vacations to Disney World. We can’t decide where else to go. There are just too many options. We need to narrow it down to a smaller world. We come to no conclusion on many other subjects as well: our baby’s name, (if Riley came out a boy, Harry was naming him Jax because he really likes the show Sons of Anarchy, and my son’s name was going to be Grady so I would have a real life cowboy in the family) what color to paint the walls, (plaid, so we can choose like 5 colors?) what to talk about (Sons of Anarchy or how much I want to move to Texas?) and (quite obviously) where to go for dinner.

No matter what the occasion or how late it is or how hungry we are, we are physically unable to decide where to eat. This isn’t sometimes, so don’t think it isn’t a severe issue. This LITERALLY occurs on a nightly basis. We drive around, we google “where can we eat right now?”, Harry tells me that he decided last time so it’s my turn to decide, I tell him my birthday is next (in 4 months) so it’s his turn to decide, and by the time we figure out where to go, it’s too late and every other restaurant has closed for the night other than Cheesecake Factory.  I know what you’re thinking, and while that menu is obscenely long, we always order the same thing (lettuce wraps, tamale cakes, a salad) so they don’t close that place on us while we’re figuring out what to get.

We’ve been known to drive to Manhattan with a reservation at a super swanky new place on opening night, dressed up (for me this is the same outfit I “did the door” in on top, jeans on the bottom and a fresh coat of lip gloss. For Harry this is pants with no elastic in the waist and hair gel. We’re very fancy people) and somehow, four hours later, end up at Little Vincent’s right around the corner from our house eating some slices. We’re talented like that.

But this weekend is going to be different. This weekend Harry and I are cruising down to AC with another couple, (this is extremely rare, as we have discussed I have pretty much no friends and FORGET about being tight with other married people…) and Harry BRILLIANTLY suggested that he’d pick a place to eat dinner. They got all excited because Harry really knows his shit about food, but I’m like freaking because I know that what it means when he says that he’s picking a place is that we’re picking a place, or rather I’m picking a place because he says I’m better at Googling than him.

Our friends told us they’re glad that if the meal sucks it won’t be their fault. What they fail to realize is that by the time we figure out where dinner is we’ll be back on Long Island and ordering short stacks at the Diner.

2 Responses to “why every restaurant should be open 24 hours.”

  1. Scott Antifonario January 13, 2012 at 11:07 pm #

    My friend at work is naming his kid Jackson based on sons of anarchy too. That show is so good, I wouldn’t b surprised in 15 years a third of high shool boys are gonna have that same name.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. my kid’s favorite snack is a condiment tray. « shelbytown - February 23, 2012

    […] us. We briefly discussed going to Italian or Mexican or Sushi, but by the time we made a decision (we’ve got issues…) we were already in the parking lot to Cheesecake so that’s where we went. All I brought […]

Leave a Reply

